Feedback by UserVoice

E. Altmann

My feedback

  1. 37 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    4 comments  ·  General  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    E. Altmann commented  · 

    Today I discovered a strange versioning problem:
    a colleague made some updates on his Visio file; when he finished, he saved his work, closed the application and told me to review; then I opened the file, added comments, but unfortunately made some stupid changes to the original work before saving and closing; I tried to recover the colleague's version of the document, but OneDrive/Sharepoint had merged all changes, his and mine, into the same version, so it wasn't possible to recover ihs work. That file version was even labeled it with my colleague as author, although I had made the latest change. That's strange and annoying and wrong! That versioning scheme is really a nightmare :-(

    E. Altmann supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    E. Altmann commented  · 

    It's essential to be able to specify a defined save ("safe") version.
    Maybe the behavior of autosave and versioning should be improved:
    office applications and sharepoint should differentiate between implicit auto-save versions and intentional user-defined versions.
    There should be the possibility to let the user control the versioning (at least as an optional setting):
    1. even with auto-save turned on, the save button shall work as a user-control for versioning, i.e. when the user operates the save-button, he should be asked whether to (1a) create a new version in addition to the auto-save versions saved since last agreed version, or to (1b) create a new version but delete the intermediate auto-save versions, or to (1c) just overwrite the last agreed version (deleting all intermediate auto-save versions).
    2. when the user exits editing (either by closing the file/app or by changing from edit mode to read-only mode, he should be asked whether to (2a) keep all auto-save versions, or (2b) keep just the latest status (and delete intermediate auto-save versions), or to (2c) overwrite the previous agreed version (deleting intermediate auto-saves), or to (2d) ignore/delete all changes and revert to last agreed (user-defined) version from before the edit phase.

  2. 17 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    2 comments  ·  General  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    E. Altmann supported this idea  · 
  3. 3,207 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    499 comments  ·  General  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    We see two patterns in this feedback thread and are addressing them now. The first pattern is that users want AutoSave OFF. The second pattern is that the Template scenarios are problematic with AutoSave.

    To address turning AutoSave OFF, we have implemented these capabilities:

    1. To avoid accidental edits by others, the owner of a file can set it to Always Open Read-Only. This can be done by setting the file to open in Read-Only Recommended (File > Info > Protect Document/ Workbook/ Presentation > Always Open in Read-Only) or by Sharing the file without allowing others to edit (File > Share > People with the link can edit > Uncheck the “Allow Editing” box).

    2. Users can turn AutoSave OFF for a file. While a document is open, clicking the AutoSave toggle turns AutoSave OFF for the current document for that user. The next time the same…

    E. Altmann supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    E. Altmann commented  · 

    Maybe the behavior of autosave and versioning should be improved:
    office applications and sharepoint should differentiate between implicit auto-save versions and intentional user-defined versions.
    There should be the possibility to let the user control the versioning (at least as an optional setting):
    1. even with auto-save turned on, the save button shall work as a user-control for versioning, i.e. when the user operates the save-button, he should be asked whether to (1a) create a new version in addition to the auto-save versions saved since last agreed version, or to (1b) create a new version but delete the intermediate auto-save versions, or to (1c) just overwrite the last agreed version (deleting all intermediate auto-save versions).
    2. when the user exits editing (either by closing the file/app or by changing from edit mode to read-only mode, he should be asked whether to (2a) keep all auto-save versions, or (2b) keep just the latest status (and delete intermediate auto-save versions), or to (2c) overwrite the previous agreed version (deleting intermediate auto-saves), or to (2d) ignore/delete all changes and revert to last agreed (user-defined) version from before the edit phase.

Feedback and Knowledge Base