Feedback by UserVoice

Kenneth Jones

My feedback

  1. 3,242 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    506 comments  ·  General  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    We see two patterns in this feedback thread and are addressing them now. The first pattern is that users want AutoSave OFF. The second pattern is that the Template scenarios are problematic with AutoSave.

    To address turning AutoSave OFF, we have implemented these capabilities:

    1. To avoid accidental edits by others, the owner of a file can set it to Always Open Read-Only. This can be done by setting the file to open in Read-Only Recommended (File > Info > Protect Document/ Workbook/ Presentation > Always Open in Read-Only) or by Sharing the file without allowing others to edit (File > Share > People with the link can edit > Uncheck the “Allow Editing” box).

    2. Users can turn AutoSave OFF for a file. While a document is open, clicking the AutoSave toggle turns AutoSave OFF for the current document for that user. The next time the same…

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Kenneth Jones commented  · 

    This feature is terrible. Thank you for just destroying 6 weeks of my work by overwriting my data with changes that I didn't want to go into the original document. I'm surprised Microsoft hasn't been sued over this yet. Now how do I get my original data back?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Kenneth Jones commented  · 

    I've tried disabling it from the registry in the past, and it did not work. I find it hard to believe that Microsoft would resort to having us hack the registry, just to disable a feature, that is destroying my files. No matter how many times I click that slider to turn the feature off, it turns right back on again the next time I open a file.

    I'm at the point now, where I'm starting to lose business data, and someone needs to be held liable for that. I've never seen anything like this before, and constantly having to restore backed up copies of files, because they were saved over, without my permission, or hacking the registry, aren't options that I can continue with.

    Kenneth Jones supported this idea  · 

Feedback and Knowledge Base