Feedback by UserVoice

Louis

My feedback

  1. 3,204 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    499 comments  ·  General  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    We see two patterns in this feedback thread and are addressing them now. The first pattern is that users want AutoSave OFF. The second pattern is that the Template scenarios are problematic with AutoSave.

    To address turning AutoSave OFF, we have implemented these capabilities:

    1. To avoid accidental edits by others, the owner of a file can set it to Always Open Read-Only. This can be done by setting the file to open in Read-Only Recommended (File > Info > Protect Document/ Workbook/ Presentation > Always Open in Read-Only) or by Sharing the file without allowing others to edit (File > Share > People with the link can edit > Uncheck the “Allow Editing” box).

    2. Users can turn AutoSave OFF for a file. While a document is open, clicking the AutoSave toggle turns AutoSave OFF for the current document for that user. The next time the same…

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Louis commented  · 

    I am happy to add to add my name to the huge list of people who find the new auto-save feature to be completely stupid. I see absolutely no need for an auto-save feature that does anything more than make a temporary copy of my work as a back-up, protecting my work from unforeseen disaster. Saving over the top of my existing file, over, and over, and over, is so unnecessary, and it has completely ruined my work flow. If I have a document with the right formatting, and just chaining information in it and wanting to save it as a new file, instead word, without my say so, is saving over the top of the original file over and over. That is just one of the no doubt hundreds of circumstances where an intrusive auto-save feature is nothing but an irritation. Just how Microsoft thought this was a feature worth forcing down everyone's throat, I do not know. I think when it comes to changes to things as fundamental as 'save' or 'save as', Microsoft should introduce choice not change.

Feedback and Knowledge Base