Feedback by UserVoice

Anonymous

My feedback

  1. 3,204 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    499 comments  ·  General  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    We see two patterns in this feedback thread and are addressing them now. The first pattern is that users want AutoSave OFF. The second pattern is that the Template scenarios are problematic with AutoSave.

    To address turning AutoSave OFF, we have implemented these capabilities:

    1. To avoid accidental edits by others, the owner of a file can set it to Always Open Read-Only. This can be done by setting the file to open in Read-Only Recommended (File > Info > Protect Document/ Workbook/ Presentation > Always Open in Read-Only) or by Sharing the file without allowing others to edit (File > Share > People with the link can edit > Uncheck the “Allow Editing” box).

    2. Users can turn AutoSave OFF for a file. While a document is open, clicking the AutoSave toggle turns AutoSave OFF for the current document for that user. The next time the same…

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Anonymous commented  · 

    William O'Brien THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. It has been frustrating me beyond belief when I re-purpose an old document and forget to make a copy of it first before making my changes, only to discover it has permanently saved it. Even worse is that often it seems it the only "version" history it has is the new saved version. Before discovering the info you provided, I painfully would open docs turn Autosave off just to try and prevent this. The fact that they added this feature doesn't offend me as much as the fact that they "retroactively" applied to to default on for all previously created docs and did not provide any global controls to turn it on or off. I am so relieved to have this horrid "feature" in my rearview mirror.

Feedback and Knowledge Base