Feedback by UserVoice

Ralf

My feedback

  1. 41 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    3 comments  ·  Office 365 Admin » SharePoint Admin  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Ralf commented  · 

    I think this option was forgotten when change the "sharing Link" function. This should be treated as bug not as feature.

    Or is there any justification why "People with existing access" can not be defined as default. If you work in company this is the most used case to share documents. This option to be set as default was available before change.

    Ralf supported this idea  · 
  2. 3,229 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    503 comments  ·  General  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    We see two patterns in this feedback thread and are addressing them now. The first pattern is that users want AutoSave OFF. The second pattern is that the Template scenarios are problematic with AutoSave.

    To address turning AutoSave OFF, we have implemented these capabilities:

    1. To avoid accidental edits by others, the owner of a file can set it to Always Open Read-Only. This can be done by setting the file to open in Read-Only Recommended (File > Info > Protect Document/ Workbook/ Presentation > Always Open in Read-Only) or by Sharing the file without allowing others to edit (File > Share > People with the link can edit > Uncheck the “Allow Editing” box).

    2. Users can turn AutoSave OFF for a file. While a document is open, clicking the AutoSave toggle turns AutoSave OFF for the current document for that user. The next time the same…

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Ralf commented  · 

    I have lost also data. Who has requested this functionality? A normal user is opening a file and view it. If you do not take care changes will be done in the background. Last modify date will be changed. even there was not change done.
    I have create a registry file to diable it on every client. But also this is not that easy because can not be done on appplication level. Therefore every user must execute the registry file.

    THIS FUNCTION SHOULD BE DISABLED BY DEFAULT. If somebody want it it should be selectable in optioins.

    I am realy wondering why it was not introduced with an option which can be activated and deactivated.

    Maybe Office team wanted to leverage the business case of the storage team, because every save will end up in new version.

    Ralf supported this idea  · 
  3. 13 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    5 comments  ·  General  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Ralf commented  · 

    I have speend a lot of time in building applications on Access Web Apps and this is a loss of investments.

    This downgrade is loss in trust in reliable solution provided by Microsoft.

    Anybody of you have an idea which soluton can be used? SharePoint Lists is a not powerfull enough.

    Ralf supported this idea  · 

Feedback and Knowledge Base