600 votesAnonymous commented
I can reproduce the issue as well. When a retention policy is in place on someone's onedrive site, and then they try to delete a folder containing items (files or other folders) they will receive the error message "You have to delete all the items in this folder before you can delete the folder"
Removing the retention policy and waiting for a bit of time for propagation will then allow you to delete the folders without issue. Just checked again now and re enabled the retention policy and am now forbidden from deleting the folders.
This only affects onedrive in the portal, it does not affect the sync client. The sync client can delete entire folders without issue with or without a retention policy in place.
Please address this!Anonymous supported this idea ·