Feedback by UserVoice

Anonymous

My feedback

  1. 3,271 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    517 comments  ·  General  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    We see two patterns in this feedback thread and are addressing them now. The first pattern is that users want AutoSave OFF. The second pattern is that the Template scenarios are problematic with AutoSave.

    To address turning AutoSave OFF, we have implemented these capabilities:

    1. To avoid accidental edits by others, the owner of a file can set it to Always Open Read-Only. This can be done by setting the file to open in Read-Only Recommended (File > Info > Protect Document/ Workbook/ Presentation > Always Open in Read-Only) or by Sharing the file without allowing others to edit (File > Share > People with the link can edit > Uncheck the “Allow Editing” box).

    2. Users can turn AutoSave OFF for a file. While a document is open, clicking the AutoSave toggle turns AutoSave OFF for the current document for that user. The next time the same…

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Anonymous commented  · 

    I agree this feature should be off by default. I think it stems from everyone complaining they lost their stuff because they forgot to save, "why doesn't word auto-save". Then they get autosave and realize autosave just overwrote all my stuff. For me more of an issue with excel for me.

    That being said, previous versions seems to work just fine for me. Either click the file name at the top or click the previous versions icon to the right. If i don't want my change, i just go to the previous version. Starting to like workflow a little better actually. I can just work and not worry about anything (saving etc.) If I made a change that i don't like and cant undo for some reason I just go to the previous versions. Has more of a document control feel.

    As far as the comment about date modified change from just opening a file, That doesn't seem to be the case on my end. I actually need to make some sort of alteration for the autosave to trigger.

    Anyway, I do feel that because this wasn't the workflow for most users it should be be an opt-in (off by default). But that has never been MS style (focused inbox, clutter, etc.), which I think is the wrong move.

  2. 5,248 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    317 comments  ·  Microsoft 365 Groups  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Anonymous commented  · 

    @Don DeCarlo. Your plugin does really seem to help with conversion at all. The do seem to possible help with copying data over, but I think when we talk about convert we are talking about talking the shared mailbox and turning it into a group. Not creating the group (with a different email) and then copying over all the information.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Anonymous commented  · 

    this is much needed.

  3. 43 votes
    Vote
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    5 comments  ·  Microsoft 365 Groups  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Anonymous commented  · 

    Yes, I use it for work and for a nonprofit board I sit on. Multiple account should be part of everything put out at this point.

    Anonymous supported this idea  · 

Feedback and Knowledge Base