Disable auto-deletion of calendar updates containing non-time updates
Current behavior in Outlook 2016/2013, as well as O365 OWA when an existing calendar appointment is updated with a text change, or attachment addition is for the appointment to be auto-updated, and the update message to be sent to the deleted items. This causes users to miss vital calendar updates.
I have opened a case with Microsoft, and was told that there is no way to modify this behavior from either the client or admin portal.
I suggest either adding a client option (to Outlook or OWA) to disable this behavior (so ALL calendar modification messages show in the inbox, rather than being sent to deleted items) so the users can self-manage, or adding the ability via the portal/powershell for this behavior to be changed on either a user basis, or tenant-wide.
Tony Halligan commented
Good afternoon all, has anyone tried the VisibleMeetingUpdateProperties parameter in powershell for MSOL..? We used the Set-organisationConfig -VisibleMeetingUpdateProperties All Properties.
Default is set to Location,AllProperties:15:
See article below
This has become a major issue with our team as they are not seeing the meeting updates when made. Again, showing up to the appointments unaware of changes and sometimes added attached files.
I just to do not understand how this is considered a good idea or practice by Microsoft?
I like to add on more agenda items to a meeting notice.
Michelle S. commented
We are a large K-12 district and this issue causes attendees in meetings to come unprepared because users aren't aware of the changes in the body of the text; primarily when attachments are added that should reviewed by attendees prior to the actual meeting.
I fully support this request!
It would be nice if meeting notices with subject or body updates were not automatically deleted. I often update a meeting notice with textual/attachment information and I don't want others to miss it.
We recently noticed this as well. After working with a Microsoft technician for a couple weeks they determined it is by design that meeting updates with a subject/body change are automatically deleted. Time or location changes do not get automatically deleted.
It makes no sense to automatically delete a meeting update, it could contain an agenda or other important information so the attendees come unprepared since the organizer thought they would get a message with the updated content.
Microsoft - please fix this!
My company's also been dealing with this. The behavior started silently appearing for a couple random users, slowly spreading to more users. We thought it was a bug and contacted Microsoft about it. For months, both we and Microsoft support technicians at increasing levels thought it was a bug, until we were finally told recently that the bug is a feature.
It seems strange to automatically delete a user's email without any way to disable it. There's a setting to disable the automatic deletion of meeting invites when a response is sent, so it seems odd there's no option to prevent deletion of an email that the user hasn't even seen.
It's also irritating that the email is deleted but left unread, so it's only halfway saving users the trouble of viewing the email (assuming they don't want to see it in the first place). They still have to go to the Deleted Items folder and mark it read.