Disable the new AutoSave by default, as it can lead to a loss of data
The new AutoSave can potentially lead to a loss of data. If you open any Word, PowerPoint, etc. doc, there is an "AutoSave" that is automatically on, on the upper left. If you're changing some stuff around and don't want to save, it still saves it. Or if you delete some things and then save as copy, your original is gone, because AutoSave was on. This is a horrible feature and should be disabled by default.
Version 1705 (Build 8117.1000 Click-to-Run)
Office Insider Fast
We see two patterns in this feedback thread and are addressing them now. The first pattern is that users want AutoSave OFF. The second pattern is that the Template scenarios are problematic with AutoSave.
To address turning AutoSave OFF, we have implemented these capabilities:
1. To avoid accidental edits by others, the owner of a file can set it to Always Open Read-Only. This can be done by setting the file to open in Read-Only Recommended (File > Info > Protect Document/ Workbook/ Presentation > Always Open in Read-Only) or by Sharing the file without allowing others to edit (File > Share > People with the link can edit > Uncheck the “Allow Editing” box).
2. Users can turn AutoSave OFF for a file. While a document is open, clicking the AutoSave toggle turns AutoSave OFF for the current document for that user. The next time the same user opens the document, AutoSave will be OFF. If they open a different document, AutoSave will not be affected by their choice in the other document.
3. Users can set AutoSave to be OFF by default for all files opened in that specific application (Word, Excel, PowerPoint). Go into File > Options > Save (to set AutoSave settings)
These are described in more detail in this support article: https://support.office.com/en-us/article/what-it-administrators-should-know-about-autosave-88e0f80f-e5ea-441b-9c5a-259f08490ae7
To address the Template scenarios, we have released a new dialog reminding the user to “Save a Copy” prior to using an existing template if you want to save changes only in the new document. This is in the Production and Semi-Annual channel today.
If you have any questions or additional feedback on these features – please email us directly at: OfficeAutoSave@Microsoft.com
Autosave is a horrible feature. If you just want to remove some data that is restricted in order to share unrestricted data, and you don't want to create a new file to do, you will find yourself permanently losing the data you temporarily remove. It is much easier to rely on users to save when they want to save rather than constantly saving in the background.
Not only should Autosave be disabled. It should be removed entirely. It has to be the worst feature in the history of Office.
It's a nice notion to say users should change their behaviour. When has human behaviour changed en masse? The more practical solution is for the program to respond to the user's needs, NOT the other way around.
Can someone tell me how to permanently disable Autosave?
While I understand the potential problems with AutoSave, I think the advantages outweigh them. Most problems can also be avoided by users if they change their behaviour.
This feature has lead to the loss of data for multiple projects. Especially since the versioning history has been having issues. THIS SHOULD BE DISABLED BY DEFAULT. It can be good in limited instances, but should not be automatically enabled
Jeff Handley commented
This has bitten me AGAIN! Every time there are updates to Office, my settings are lost and auto-save COMES BACK ON in each office app. Please at least respect my preferences during updates. This has led to data loss for me multiple times. STAAAAHHHHPPPPP!!!
I agree, totally pointless and awful idea to create this feature, it does not work in a business environment, please get rid of it.
I do not think it necessary since you have a history of versions and you can recover!
Imagine closing the page and not saving the changes.
If the Autosave is switched on and you want to recover the previous version just click on the activity button on the right and recover the previous version.
This causes concern when someone who just read a document accidentally saves it. This is done automatically at opening the document if you have anything active in the document, e.g. a data-connection. What change did this person make and why? This is not compatible at all with publishing mechanisms in SharePoint or regulatory traceability requirements.
IT CRASHES WORD SO MUCH **** THIS FEATURE
This has totally destroyed two of my docs now. I have to remember to immediately turn AutoSave off whenever I open a document. The other thing is that their suggestion to recover the previous version has never worked for me, didn't work today, and so on. This is terrible.
ALERT: You can change the default to turn this off, thank God. Go into Word/Excel/Powerpoint Preferences to "Save" options. Then uncheck the autosave box. It may be necessary to do this in each separate Office application.
(I don't know if this was possible when they first did the update, but it's there now. I echo everyone else's frustration at lost or overwritten work. ARGH!! Whoever thought this would be a good new feature to spring on people is probably young and inexperienced at managing/reusing documents. And to respond to the person who thinks we just don't like change, these are work practices that someone doesn't just change overnight - these are activities many of us have done for years without even thinking about it while working under deadline at the speed of light. So no, we are not going to be happy about what may seem to you to be an insignificant change but for us is not.)
:( I just lost hours of work! no option to recover..
John Ehrenreich commented
This feature is destroying our shared filing system. Please either undo it or create an option to turn it off and keep autosave.
Rob Nicholson commented
Hmm, although I'm probably fighting against the tide but the reason this one IMO is causing so much angst is that it's a change to the way one us used to working. Overall, autosave is better. New Google suite users don't seem to complain about it. Also, this uservoice by it's very nature will be commented by people who have a problem with the feature. How many billions are okay with it?
Please turn it off, definitely causes rework and worse loss of data.
This stupid feature is still alive???
The devs at Microsoft never read Office documents?
And they are happy to have the timestamp of the document changed just because they filtered some data?
Seriously, this must be a joke.
I agree! I always build new docs based on existing ones. For instance a Board Meeting Agenda. I open the previous month, make the changes and then do a save as. Except with AutoSave, it's changed the original, so I 'm left with the choice of redoing everything I just did or losing the previous month's agenda. It's really a nuisance and so not needed!
Hate it - please disable or offer option to turn off. This is causing me so much more work as files are being saved and corrupting the original
Autosave would have worked just fine if the document does not open in Editing mode immediately...