Feedback by UserVoice

I suggest you ...

Allow tracked changes to show in Word Online

I'm a teacher and we use Office365 at our school. I use the desktop version of Word a lot but my students prefer the online version. When I comment their writing I can't use "track changes" because they won't show in Word Online... Only comments show. Why? Please allow Track Changes to show online!

651 votes
Vote
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
You have left! (?) (thinking…)
Lars shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

46 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
An error occurred while saving the comment
  • David Pairman commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Not having track changes defeats the purpose of a collaboration space. Office 365 is therefore not fit for purpose without it!

• Rivka Vaughs commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I work for a large healthcare organization in a community of policy writers. We maintain upwards of 50,000 policy documents. The track changes feature of Word is an important tool to enable efficient drafting and review of policy documents. The absence of this functionality is a barrier to adopting the Word online application. I hope that Microsoft can resolve this deficiency as soon as possible.

• Mike commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

As companies and the software solutions that they rely upon move towards Office Online, I'm surprised to see this large gap with a Microsoft product. Tracking changes is a basic requirement for our company's 300k users and it has been for many years. I hope that Microsoft still allows customer feedback to influence their design and fixes this soon.

• Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate